DIVORCE & FAMILY LAW FIRM – HIGHLAND PARK – DALLAS COUNY TX
Need to hire a family law attorney in Dallas County who knows a thing or two about complex divorce issues, asset and property divisions, or international child custody? Jeff Anderson is a very respected member of the legal community and have received several awards individually for his contributions to family law cases in local courts. Our team of lawyers know Texas Family Law Code inside and out, and can help you in court no matter how seemingly simple or complicated your case is. Our office is conveniently located in Highland Park. Call us today to schedule a consultation!
Jeff Anderson Family Law Attorney
5950 Sherry Ln #808
Dallas, TX 75225
Phone: (972) 248-8383
Hours: Monday – Friday 8AM to 5PM
Answers to Frequently Asked Questions People Ask our Firm
Where Can I File for Divorce in the Dallas Area?
If you live in Dallas County, you can file for divorce at the Dallas County District Clerk’s office located at:
600 Commerce Street Suite 103
Dallas, TX 75202
Can I represent myself in a divorce in Dallas County?
Although it is perfectly legal to file divorce papers yourself and act as your own attorney, we highly recommend that you hire an experienced divorce lawyer. If the divorce is uncontested, the legal cost will be considerably lower but your interests will be well protected should your soon to be ex-spouse surprise you with anything in court.
What Documents Do I Need to Submit When I File for Divorce at the Dallas County District Clerk’s Office?
You need to turn in a signed copy of the petition for divorce, this year and last year’s tax return, and filing fees payable by cash, check, or credit card.
Do I Have to Be a Resident of Dallas to file for Divorce in Dallas County?
According to the Dallas County District Clerk’s Office,
“To file for divorce in Dallas County, you should have lived in Dallas County for 90 days and in Texas for six months.”
Technically, this means that either you or your spouse need to have lived in Dallas for at least 90 days, and have been a resident of Texas for a minimum of 6 months.
How Much Does it Cost to File for Divorce in Dallas County?
The filing fees to submit a petition for divorce at the Dallas County District Clerk’s Office are $282 for a divorce without children. The cost for filing a divorce with children is $333. If you are filing for a divorce with children, we highly recommend that you call a divorce attorney experienced in child custody cases. A judge alone can decide the custody and visitation arrangements for your children, and without an experienced custody lawyer on your side you will be leaving custody to chance.
Do I Have to Pay for My Spouse to Be Served Divorce Papers?
You have two choices; one is free and the other you will fit the bill for. If you choose to let a Dallas County Constable serve your spouse with divorce papers, you pay nothing. However, if you wanted a private certified process server to serve the divorce papers to your spouse then you are responsible for delivering the papers to them to be served and paying the process servers. In some situations, like when the party that is to be served is evasive or hard to find, it is necessary to hire a process server.
How Long Does it Take for My Divorce to Be Final After I File the Paperwork at the Dallas County Courthouse?
If everything goes through without a hitch, your divorce can be finalized a minimum of 60 days after the petition for divorce is filed. Once the final divorce decree has been signed and filed, your soon to be ex has 20 days from the date they are served to respond to the divorce petition.
If they do not respond, your divorce is finalized by default. To check the status of a return of service visit: http://courts.dallascounty.org/default.aspx. To check the status of an answer to a petition for divorce visit: http://courtecom.dallascounty.org/pav/.